If you are facing a DWI/DUI charge you will need the experienced legal advice of an aggressive attorney who cares about your case. Virginia has some of the strictest DUI/DWI laws in the country and having a lawyer on your side helps to minimize those consequences.
- I will use my years of experience to exploit the useful defenses, legal maneuvers and pre-trial preparations necessary to obtain favorable results.
- I will personally analyze yur case and seek a way for you to avoid or minimize the negative impact of a conviction can have on your life.
Don't allow a disaster. Call now 804 732 1000
for a FREE consultation, and I will explain how I will fight for you.
DUI 1st: The penalties for a first offense DWI in Virginia include a maximum fine of up to $2,500, imprisonment for up to 12 months (all of which can be suspended), and a one-year suspension of the person's driving privileges (with eligibility for a 12 month restricted license if ignition interlock is installed for at least six months). However, if the blood alcohol concentration of the defendant at the time of testing was between 0.15 to 0.20, there is a 5-day mandatory minimum sentence of incarceration that cannot be suspended. If the blood alcohol concentration was greater than 0.20, there is an additional mandatory minimum sentence of 10 days of incarceration that cannot be suspended.
DUI 2nd: The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction in Virginia within a 5-year period include a mandatory minimum fine of $500, imprisonment for up to 12 months with a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 20 days that cannot be suspended, and a three year license suspension with no eligibility for a restricted license for one year. The penalties for a second offense DUI within a 5 to 10 year period include a mandatory minimum fine of $500, a 10 day jail sentence that cannot be suspended, and a three year license suspension with no eligibility for a restricted license for four months. However, in either case, if the person's blood alcohol concentration was between 0.15 to 0.20, the penalties, in addition to what has been previously stated, include an additional mandatory minimum jail sentence of 10 days. If the level is above 0.20, there is an additional 20 days of mandatory incarceration.
DUI 3rd: The penalty for a third Virginia DUI conviction within 10 years includes a term of imprisonment of one to five years and a maximum fine of $2,500, with a mandatory minimum incarceration of 90 days. If the three convictions were within five years, the mandatory minimum incarceration period increases to six months. A third DUI conviction within a 10-year period also results in an "indefinite" revocation of the person's driving privileges.